September 27, 2007

those are some good mushrooms

Posted in sufficiently entertaining at 10:12 am by squishy

tmnt

Today’s kids have Spongebob and Dora. As a product of the late 80s and early 90s, I grew up with the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I loved TMNT. I saved up for the action figures, I had the TMNT lunchbox and thermos, I ate the TMNT cereal, I had the TMNT sleeping bag, and I drove my family crazy with a countdown for the (godawful) movie release. I was a strange kid then. I still know the theme song. I’m an even stranger person now.

In retrospect, describing the premise of this cartoon as ‘bizarre’ would be a gross understatement. Who in their right mind would think to combine teenagers, mutants, ninjas and turtles? Mutagenic ooze –> anthropomorphic Japanese rat? Biped turtles named after Renaissance artists? Why ninjas and not professional wrestlers? What about that pizza obsession? It makes NO sense whatsoever. I guess you could say that about the Smurfs. Pants but no shirt? Why Medieval Europe?  For that matter, why blue? My poor mom had to watch these shows with us, and I can only imagine what she was thinking: “Those mofos were stoned off their asses.”

Trying to apply logic to kiddie cartoons is a lost cause, but I’d like to meet the creators and writers of these shows. I’m sure my mom would like to as well.

1 Comment »

  1. Tina said,

    I, too, adored TMNT. I didn’t have lunch boxes or toys (I saved that for Rainbow Brite and the Dukes of Hazzard, for which I still lust – I had good taste), but I did watch the movie many, many times. Only I’m not ashamed. I’d happily welcome the release of all my old cartoon habits. Bring ’em on Saturday mornings! I’ve got shopping shakes to get over! (ahem, that’s a shopping=heroin reference. see what I did there?)


Leave a Reply

