October 3, 2007

pass the helium

Posted in miscellany tagged at 10:42 am by squishy

alvin-chipmunks-hiphop.jpg

I remember watching Alvin and the Chipmunks as a kid, but I don’t recall particularly enjoying it. It’s what I watched to kill time between far superior cartoons. So I’m certainly not planning my holiday season around the release of this movie… despite the lure of Jason Lee, the poster freaks me out too much. Cartoons are cartoons because they are very much cartoony. Trying to render them in a realistic matter, with furry overbites and chipmunk lips, is a wee unsettling (Polar Express, anyone?).

Speaking of which, I can’t remember the last time I saw a chipmunk. Squirrels, yes. Chipmunks, no.

1 Comment »

  1. Tina said,

    I hear ya, only I used to love the Chipmunks. I watched that damn Chipmunk movie over and over again. (I’d probably watch it again if I saw it on tv. *bows head in shame*)

    When did Alvin and the gang become so, so… cool, I guess? Okay Alvin, fine. He was always the coolest of the three. But Simon and Theodore? Give me a break. I can’t really remember which was which but I know one of them was crazy nerdy. There’s no way that one would have worn a sideways baseball cap and aviator sun glasses.

    This movie is going to be a disaster. I can’t wait to see the previews. I won’t see the actual movie, I promise, but the previews? fair game.


Leave a Reply

