April 5, 2008

it’s my capitalistic, consumeristic, american duty

Posted in miscellany at 11:28 am by squishy

I will be receiving my stimulus payment from the IRS on May 9 (check link for payment schedule; it’s based on the last 2 digits of your SSN). My Amazon cart will be cleared out soon afterwards. Yay!

I’m doing my part to stimulate our constipated economy, and you should, too.

PS: Redundant title? Perhaps, but that just shows how PSYCHED I am about my free $600.  W00tness.

4 Comments »

  1. Rana said,

    Hah, mine comes on May 2nd. Do you think I can buy new co-workers with the money?

  2. Tina said,

    5/9 here too. I was going to give mine to charity (my tiny finger to the gov’t) but now I think I may need new brakes and new tires. Shit, shit, shit. What’s a civic-minded girl to do?

  3. Rana said,

    Buy brakes and tires from a non-profit mechanic’s garage?

    By-the-by…bf claims that there are some people that the IRS has claimed actually owe too much money and therefore their $600 would just go to paying off debts which wouldn’t help the economy. Therefore, the IRS decided to just buy them things worth $600. He said that there’s a couple in Arizona that the IRS bought an air conditioner. Must see what Google has to say about this.

  4. squishy said,

    I considered saving all $600 (my not-so-magnanimous fuck you to the US gov’t), but I saved most of my tax return. Decisions, decisions.

    I guess the IRS doesn’t support responsible fiscal behavior. THAT EXPLAINS SO MUCH.


Leave a Reply

