April 18, 2008

’twas a monumental display of offensive ineptitude.

Posted in deportes, wtf? at 1:41 am by squishy

Look at this line. It’s fucked up. I never imagined a scenario where I could say that I sat through the last 14 innings of a game.

Colorado 2, San Diego 1

innings: 22
total hits: 25 (25!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
total runs scored: 3* (3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
total pitches: 657
most pitches from reliever: 80
total strike outs: 37
total walks: 13
total length of game: 6 hours and 16 godforsaken minutes
number of pitchers used as pinch hitters: 1
number of double plays: 6
number of players on active rosters NOT used: 8** (out of a possible 50)
SD batting average: 0.149
COL batting average: 0.192

*I need to add that one was walked in, one was unearned, and I can’t even remember how the first one was scored.

**Every position player, including the backup backstops were used.

It should be noted that this game was scoreless for 13 innings.

I’m SO glad I’m not a Padres fan. All this for a 1-run loss on an UNEARNED RUN. And they have to travel to Arizona for a game today.

Tina, your boys better whip the Rockies. They have no bullpen to speak of.

3 Comments »

  1. Tina said,

    Ha! I wish. Oddly enough I saw the Rockies play more than any other team last year. The few times I actually attended Astros games, they were playing the Rockies. And I went to a Giants game and the opposing team? The Rockies. (But I did see Barry hit one out of the park.)

    And talk to me about long games. I don’t have the stats on it but when the ‘Stros go long, they go long man. Personally, I love a good 22 inning game. It really ups the excitement factor and leaves you enjoying those oh-so short 9 inning-ers. New word?

  2. squishy said,

    It was fun for, oh, the first 15 innings. It’s kind of like sex: great in the beginning, and then things begin to chafe and you just want to get it over with.

    I have to say, though, I was rooting for Colorado during the 2007 post season. I still have a weak spot for them.

  3. Tina said,

    I was rooting for them as well. I figured I could claim them more than any other playoff team, due to the above-mentioned attendance record.

    Chafing blows. Agreed.


Leave a Reply

