June 6, 2008

now i’ll have to wash my hair in the morning

Posted in miscellany at 12:13 am by squishy

I was about to shower* and turned on the water without realizing that there was a dumbass spider in my tub that couldn’t climb out. The sucker got a bit wet, and its legs got tangled up. I thought it was dead, but still tried to dry it off with a square of TP. I scooped it onto the dry part of the tub in the hopes that it was still alive.

I just checked back now, and its alive! It’s crawling around!

It better take care of all the ants in my house** now. It owes me big.

* I really need to look into dry shampoos. My hair doesn’t get really greasy, but I swear I can feel my scalp accruing oil and it drives me insane. I have to wear a baseball cap half the time so I can ignore it. And I hate the smell of hair that hasn’t been washed in 24 hours. Almost as much as fresh cut grass.

** There’s another spider somewhere with only seven legs. I’m terrified of bugs, but my house is a sanctuary for those spindly, long-legged spiders. The fat ones with stubby legs are fair game, though; I just shoo them outside.

4 Comments »

  1. Tina said,

    Did you see the post on ST about Ojon? I’m off to find it this weekend. It’s supposed to be a great dry shampoo. According to Sephora, it’s cheaper to buy the 2 oz. version than the 4.5 oz. (Of course it’s cheaper but I mean it’s more affordable to buy more cans of the smaller than one of the bigger sized cans. Isn’t it supposed to be the other way around to entice you to buy the bigger size – more bang for your buck or some such thing?)

    I live in an old house surrounded by greenery/trees so bugs happen. I kill them but I’m not afraid of them. Unless they move quickly. Then they skeeve me out a bit. And anything in my shower goes down the drain quickly. It probably lives there and comes back up later. Oh well. You’re way too nice to spiders. But maybe you guys don’t have the brown recluses we have here in Texas? I’ve never actually seen one and I’m not entirely sure what they look like (I’m a specist – all spiders look alike to me), but they can seriously hurt you, hence the killing of all spiders. I’d probably keep daddy long legs around though. Maybe I should buy one of those and let it lose in my house… it would kill the bf. He’s terrified of spiders. And birds. Don’t ask.

  2. squishy said,

    I just saw it now. Let me know what you think of it. I just have no idea what to expect, since I’ve never used dry shampoos before.

  3. Kelly said,

    I live in the middle of the woods, and bugs come in with no regard for the fact that I LIVE HERE. Whenever it rains, all the worms in the world crawl under my garage door to find solace. So then I just have a worm army invasion. There are the standard flies, spiders, etc, but the worst was the other day when I was loading the dishwasher. I picked up a plate from the sink, and underneath were two HUGE MYSTERY BUGS. I don’t know what they are or where they came from. I suspect they came up from the drain, which creeped me out, so I dumped some boiling water on them and bleach down the drain.

    They haven’t come back. Whew. I’m not quite as nice as you, letting them stay alive and all.

  4. sandrar said,

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

