September 3, 2008

i might not make it ’till november

Posted in asshat! at 3:11 pm by squishy

I just saw an Obama attack ad that plays up Palin’s experience over Obama (“She’s had EXPERIENCE.  Obama’s just a buncho empty words”).  For reals.  And I heard a Republican stumping for Palin, saying that she’s qualified because she was the governor of the largest US state (“It’s so vast! And big! Obama was just a senator from Illinois”).

Just for your edification, Alaska is the 3rd least populous state.  More people live in Delaware, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, and Maine (each) than in Alaska.  It does, however, have 60,000 more inhabitants than Vermont.  Good on you.

PS: Cindy McCain on Palin’s experience with foreign policy… “Remember: Alaska is the closest part of our continent to Russia. So, it’s not as if she doesn’t understand what’s at stake here.”

PPS: Actually, I might make it ’till November if there are more gems like these.  Peggy Noonan + Mike Murphy blab off camera on a hot mike.  lol. “It’s over!”

PPPS: Sarah Palin’s Most Import Speech Evar™ post mortem… Nate Silver from FiveThirtyEight says it better than I could: “Not a strikeout. Not a home run. I don’t know. A double, and the runner got thrown out trying to stretch it into a triple?”  Empty calories, methinks.  I’m just glad she didn’t try to sell herself as a tortured-distressed-damsel-martyr-something.

The first 2/3 or so was good, especially considering what my expectations were, but she started getting shrill, obnoxious and strangely boring towards the end.  Staunch Republicans would love it and would appeal to some moderates, but I can’t imagine a lot of independents getting particularly psyched.  It takes huevos to attack someone’s experience when you really don’t have much; I would’ve imagined that someone OTHER than Palin would’ve brought that shit up.  Pot, meet kettle.

The DNC must be getting tired with Biden straining at the leash.  Just let him go for it.

1 Comment »

  1. Tina said,

    The thought of Biden as a, um, pitbull if you will? tied on a leash cracks my shit up.

    I’m depressed today because everywhere I turn is “rockstar” and “nailed it!” type headlines. I can’t take this kind of shit from someone like Palin. I turned off the news this morning to avoid the spincter sound but now the damn internet! has turned against me too.

    At least now yahoo’s home page has a cover story listing Palin’s inaccuracies in her speech. That brings me some reprieve.

    But yeah, I don’t think she did it with Is. At least I hope she didn’t. Oh and I? That stands for Independent, Joe, not Democrat.


Leave a Reply

