September 9, 2008

now that the winning streak is over, i can’t be blamed for jinxing them

Posted in los dodgers at 11:31 pm by squishy

I’m kind of embarrassed to gush about the Dodgers, largely because Tina’s Astros have a better record but have a fraction of a chance to make it to the playoffs (thank the baseball gods for the NL West). But goddammit, 9 out of 10 and 2.5 games up on the Diamondbacks, who were 4.5 games above just a few weeks ago!

Ox! Thanks for the ulcers!

Guy was incorrectly called out, but that's beside the point.

Making the playoffs would be a wonderful “yay for graduate school!” present.

Photo: US Presswire/Christopher Hanewinckel

PS: I JUST learned how to add captions. I’m a fucking genius.

5 Comments »

  1. Rana said,

    I would normally mention something here about how Philadelphia has a better than both of your teams, but then I would have to also (because I’m honest) mention how suck-ass they’ve been playing the last couple of games. Apparently none of our pitchers got the memo that strikes=good.

  2. Tina said,

    The Phillies are only slightly better than MY team and if I have my way, they won’t be better than them come two weeks down the road, which is really the whole point, right? Not that I dislike the Phillies but at this point they’re in our way and I can’t have that. Hopefully the Mets will fall apart like last year and this won’t be an issue.

    As for the Dodgers, I was watching some of these games and rooting for them too, mainly for you Squishy because I have no beef with AZ.

    Wouldn’t it be something if the Dodgers, Astros, and Phillies ended up in the play-offs?

    As for the whole record bit, don’t feel bad. They used to refer to the Central Division as Comedy Central not too long ago. It happens.

  3. squishy said,

    Now Philly and Houston have the same record!

    The Astros’ hot streak is phenomenal. Too bad ESPN just found out about it, despite going 32-11 since late July (or something equally disgusting). Amazing. If the Rockies can do it, well… maybe someone else can?

    I bet Arizona sorely misses Valverde.

  4. Tina said,

    ESPN sucks big, hairy donkey balls. (Are donkey balls hairy? Or big?) The Astros are famous, at least to those who actuall notice they exist, for their late season runs. I don’t min a late season run, but I prefer it be preceeded by an early season run and a mid-season run. Nonetheless, considering how little faith I had, I’m super excited. I can only hope Ike doesn’t curtail their winning streak. I’m unsure of who to root for re: the Phillies and Brewers series. I guess I’m rooting for the Phillies to win a couple of games but I don’t want them to get seriously hot either. Dilemma. I definitely know I’m against the Cubs this weekend but I’m for the Cubs next Tuesday.

    Who wouldn’t miss Valverde? Dude’s amazing.

  5. squishy said,

    I’m just glad Valverde’s out of the division. I heart Brandon Lyon and his 4.96 ERA.


Leave a Reply

